The Friday Five

I am a LiveJourn’ler, too ill to do useful stuff that isn’t work, and no one’s around at work to make work worth going to. Thus I present the Friday Five.

1) Do you celebrate the religious aspect of Christmas or the commercial aspect of Christmas?

I went to Christmas Eve church service this year, and didn’t buy anyone any gifts. I don’t think that answers the question, but I guess I’m not as in to answering these as I thought I would be.

2) What’s your favorite activity to celebrate the holidays? (i.e. baking goodings, making ornaments, etc.)

I think baking is important to me. Somehow Scrabble is, as well. Goodings, according to Wordnik, are a method of begging alms – I’m not sure why I’d bake them.

3) Would you rather give or receive?

This assumes that the two are distinct in my brain, and they really aren’t. There’s a lot of times when it’s an act of generosity to take something from someone graciously. I recognize that I’m on both ends of that graciousness at Christmas.

4) What is the gift you are most anxious to give this holiday season and who is it for? What makes is so special?

See answer to #1.

5) What is the most memorable gift you have ever gotten for Christmas? Why did it stand out more compared to other ones?

My bike. I hadn’t asked for a bike, and didn’t need a bike, since I had a decent one, but I got a bike for Christmas and nothing else, because my family’s approach to gifts that year was to buy everyone something expensive that they went in on together, in an attempt to simplify shopping. I remember it because I had asked for several cheaper things I would have been happier to get, even if they were all I got. It was worse than disappointment with the gift, it was the discomfort that comes with not being able to take a gift as graciously as you want to. I nearly fainted – it seemed like my family must have thrown such a lot of money into buying me something I really didn’t need, and had never asked for.

Mmmm. First World Problems.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

